Arts & Crafts · Holidays

Cinnamon Dough

First let me say that after our first couple if uses of salt dough, I learned it is best to allow all salt dough to dry about 48 hours to ensure its hard.

We started with A recipe I got from Growing A Jeweled Rosewebsite. My lil one is still not very big into the whole sticky and go shy stuff. (Now, with the means to do easier I have set my own personal goal for starting the first of the year, we will be ending that. Oh the fun I have got planed. 🙂 )

Once the dough was mixed together, she helped me a little in rolling out some of the dough. Using our metal cookie cutters she made stars and two trees. With the goal of making them to hang on the tree and do give as gifts. I kept the dough at least 1/4 inch thick. That way they wouldnt break as easy, and would store well to be used for years to come.
image

image

Allowing the cookie cut dough to dry for 48 hours

** MAKE SURE TO POKE WHOLES THROUGH BEFORE ALLOWING THE DOUGH TO DRY COMPLETELY, IF YOU PLAN TO USE THEM IN ANY HANGING FORM. SUCH AS AN ORNAMENT.

I than took plain white school glue, I purchase mine 2 for $1 at my local Dollar Tree™, and poured it into a shallow dish.

Taking a similar dish and pouring glitter, also purchased at my local Dollar Tree™. This is a good time to point out that glitter with a toddler is very manageable. However keeping the different colors of glitter separate is not. Next time I will just combine the colors prior to starting.

As a watch me type instruction, I stood in front of my toddler picking up one of the now dry cookie cut out shapes of cinnamon dough and dipped it into the white school glue. Attempting very hard to over emphasis the point of only dip down once and straight up in glitter. Than placing it on my own
image image image
My toddler followed my instructions. Only as my little ones glue covered fingers tips became covered in glitter as well, I began to notice a panicked look on her face form.

So when in a very calm and shocking clear speech, she looked at me and said, “wash hands please?!” I was completely blown our the water. Where was my typical two year old panic freak out mood that I am some what accustom to.

So with a wet paper towel placed beside her, she rather quickly dipped in glue than glitter the rest of the shapes we had cut out. Placing all on my DIY self created & made drying rack.
image

After allowing them to dry for 24 hours I took plain old christmas wrapping string to lope through each one. I can imagine the very chich and gorgeous things you could cover and use as string. That you could make and use in year round decor. Instead of just holiday time.

Leave a Reply

