Arts & Crafts · Painting

Water Painting DIY Salt Molds

While looking at some different water color techniques recently, a interesting one that seem to catch my eye was watercolors & salt.  Yes, Salt!  I have some very fun looking art and science project stuff to do. My lil is still just too young to even attempt to do with her.  Unwilling to give up, a few more days of looking and researching over two weeks. I found it!

A big kudos to Asia over at Fun At Home With Kids. She had hit the nail on the head to what I was looking for.  Asia’s Painted Salt Sculptures, rocks!  wpid-img_20140712_151929_151.jpg

Our version:  I have to admit that we have been having some pretty hot weather for the northwest here in Washington lately. So, overall outside in the sun drying ours only took 4 maybe 5 hours. So when doing this keep in mind the warmer the weather the better.

Supplies

  • Salt
  • Water
  • Bowl
  • Mold (we used Sand Molds**)
  • Food Coloring or Liquid Water Colors
  • Droppers

Mix your salt & water together in a bowl.wpid-img_20140712_052444_131.jpg

Important thing to remember is;

1 cup salt + 1 tablespoon water = 1 mold

If making 2 molds, as I did. You add 2 cups salt, 2 tablespoons water and mix. It is very important that you do not use too much water. You need a moist (hate to even use this word) crumbly mixture.  The best way I think is to look at the salt, once wet each grain of salt goes from a cloudy like white to a clear white. wpid-img_20140712_052459_988.jpg

 

Than take your mold and firmly press the salt mixture into the mold. The firmer you press the stronger and more sturdy end product you will have. The younger your little artist is the more stronger you need it to be. wpid-img_20140712_053017_685.jpg

Allow your molds to now completely dry. I cant not express how important it is that they are completely dry. I am the worse at this, I never seem to allow anything to dry fully. But with these you really need to.

Once they have dried, flip them over and they should slide right out. You might need to give a couple small taps.

Now, if you are fortunate to have liquid watercolors, I majorly recommend use them. We did not, nor did we have droppers. After some trial and error attempts. I remembered that a friend of mine had given me a case of sample eye drops. You know removes red eyes, dry eye…. You get the point. So quickly with two little ones waiting, I grabbed them up opened the boxes and using some needle nose pliers pulled the plugs out of each bottle. wpid-img_20140715_105742_298.jpg

After emptying the liquid in each bottle, I refilled each bottle with water. I than using gel food coloring made the colors requested from the artists 🙂 wpid-img_20140715_105819_368.jpg

They than were able to use these to drop the colors onto their salt molds. The finished products being colorful. I would love to reattempt this only using liquid watercolors. I am sure that they would give a more vivid color and dynamic mixed with the salt than the food coloring did. Maybe in the future when can afford them. 🙂

wpid-img_20140712_150510_687.jpgwpid-img_20140712_150405_081.jpgwpid-img_20140712_152502_476.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

